Today’s Tub Manga: My Lesbian Experience With Loneliness

Read this book.

If you’ve looked at My Brother’s Husband on Amazon, chances are you’ve then been recommended My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness.

I can see why it draws comparisons–they’re both amazing, well-written, and deal with complicated issues in very clear ways. However, whereas My Brother’s Husband is a bit more removed, more third-person, and kind of roundabout, My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness is very first-person, immediate, and full speed ahead.

So the style of delivery was very different but as with My Brother’s Husband, it only took me a few pages to know I was reading something above and beyond. Something life-changing. I would look at the world just a little differently after reading it.

The ending kind of brought me up short. But I thought to myself, “This is a story about real life. And real life doesn’t really have a tidy place for her to end the story.” So while it was almost uncomfortable at first, feeling like the end just “was there”…it was also kind of reassuring, that it fit the theme of the whole book, and like everything else it wasn’t perfect but it was good and that the author is still out there, doing her thing. Still working on herself, as we all should be.

Leave a Reply

