Today’s Tub Manga: The Ancient Magus’ Bride (volume 7)

I really loved “The Ancient Magus’ Bride” when I first started the series. However, I opened up volume seven and had absolutely no recollection of where the previous volume left off or what the hell was going on.

I caught up quickly enough but I no longer find myself getting as immersed in the story as I once did. For a couple volumes now it’s had a feeling of…meandering. Initially I didn’t mind that kind of lazy, relaxed feeling but now I feel more like, “Where are we going with this? How many misunderstandings and reconciliations do we need?”

That said, we did get some intrigue and major drama later in this volume that gave it kind of a different, more urgent vibe. More characters were smattered in so it’s not just Elias and Chise misunderstanding and forgiving each other in circles. There were even a few spots for some cute humor, which I appreciated and miss from earlier volumes. I’m hoping the cliffhanger at the end of volume seven leads to some more interesting developments.

Leave a Reply

