Today’s Tub Manga: Kamisama Kiss (volume 24)

I absolutely loved “Kamisama Kiss” when I first started reading it, back in the good old days. However, in the last several volumes I’ve had this persistent feeling that…it’s just gone on too long.

Which is okay, because the next volume is the final one.

In volume 24, we get some kind of weak resolution with Akura-oh and Yatori. Maybe there really was more significant buildup to this conclusion and I’ve just forgotten because it’s dragged on for too many volumes, but it felt kind of watery to me. Like the author finally got bored of it and decided to wrap it up. I hate that I feel so meh about the series now because I loved it so much in the beginning.

The rest of volume 24 deals with– **IF YOU HAVEN’T READ KAMISAMA KISS AND PLAN ON IT, DON’T READ ANY FURTHER, SPOILING THE SHIT OUT OF STUFF HERE**

 

–Tomoe’s decision to become human and live with Nanami as normal boring people. I feel like while this is the reasonable, predictable ending, it still irritates me. It’s not that I’m fluffy and want them to live happily ever after; it’s more that I look at Nanami’s situation and I think, “Your ‘normal life’ before really sucked. You were given this amazing opportunity and your life has been changed for the better because of it. It’s like you won the lottery. So whyyyyy are you throwing that away, disconnecting all these bonds you made, and insisting on going back to living a life of struggle?” Though apparently by the end of volume 24 it won’t be a life of struggle because Tomoe will just take care of everything..? And on that note, I think about Tomoe, who’s been alive for how many hundreds of years, becoming human. How freakin’ hard is that adjustment going to be? No more flying. Magic. Fox ears. Transformations. Crossing into other worlds. So on and so forth. Because you’re a borrrrrring old human now.

I’m a little put off by my own distaste for the direction the series is heading, but I can’t help it. Maybe I’ve just never been a fan of the “normal route.”

Leave a Reply

