Winter 2016 (Part 2!)

Several shows hit the day after my initial 2016 post…so here is Winter 2016 Part 2.

Rainbow Days

Funimation’s Description: After getting dumped on Christmas day, high school boy and hopeless romantic Natsuki Hashiba crosses paths with Anna, an aloof girl in a Santa outfit passing out tissues. For him it’s love at first sight, for her… not so much. With help from his best friends—a playboy, an otaku, and a nice guy with a sadistic streak—Natsuki sets out to win Anna’s heart and heal his own heartbreak along the way.

My description: Boys are silly and are fun to watch and sometimes friends just enjoy watching you screw up.

Verdict: Yep, totally love it. Cute high school boys being dumb is really my thing. The extra/associated episodes of club RAINBOW are really fun too. I love the whole “inside look at the voice actors” thing.

Dimension W

Funimation’s Description: In the year 2071, the world’s energy problems seem solved by a network of cross-dimensional electric-field inductors- “coils” -that extract energy from a seemingly infinite source. That source is the W dimension, a fourth plane that exists beyond the X, Y, and Z dimensions. In this world, unofficial “illegal” coils harness powers that the police can’t hope to counter. Dealing with these coils is the job of coil-hating repo man Kyoma, whose run-in with the unique coil android Mira leads the two to form a reluctant partnership.

My description: It’s the future and there’s unlimited energy and dogs have power buttons on their heads. A lady who looks like Ursula from “The Little Mermaid” hires a super cool Spike-Spiegel-esque Daisuke Ono to track down users of illegal coils…and while he’s doing that he kinda saves a robot girl but she slaps him.

Verdict: Dude dancing in the opening theme won me over. At that point I’d already decided this show is great.  Then I heard the voices…and can’t quit smiling. I’m pretty excited about this one.

Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash

Funimation’s Description: From A-1 Pictures, the studio behind Fairy Tail and Sword Art Online: When Haruhiro awakens, he’s in the dark surrounded by people who have no memory of where they came from or how they got there. As the darkness fades, a fantastic new world called “Grimgar” appears before them and their adventure begins—but first, they’ll have to choose their guild, class, and special abilities.

My description: Some people wake up in an RPG-like world and don’t really have memories. They form different groups as Volunteer Soldiers to try to level up. The witch-girl cries about being fat because she has big boobs or something.

Verdict: Honestly, I was bored within two seconds. Then I heard Yoshimasa Hosoya’s voice and thought, “Maybe this won’t be so bad…” I’m a voice whore, so what. Anyway, the look is cute and I like the voices but this is kind of boring. The little obnoxious redheaded guy is really the best character; he has the best lines and kept me from falling asleep. I don’t know that Hosoyan can save this one for me. 😦

Dagashi Kashi

Funimation’s Description: Kokonotsu “Coconuts” Shikada dreams of becoming a famous manga artist. The only problem—he’s terrible. His real talent is selling the complex and delicious snacks in his father’s “dagashi” shop. He never thought much about the family business until the trendy, eccentric Hotaru showed up. As a lover of “dagashi,” she can’t let his talent go to waste and decides she won’t stop ‘til she’s sold him on sweets.

My description: A kid wants to draw manga but his dad wants him to take over the snack shop. A crazy girl shows up and is hilarious.

Verdict: The first half was funny but then I lost interest. Why is the goldfish in the bowl so big? Does he need a bigger bowl? I do enjoy Hotaru, though. She should be annoying but I think she’s funny.

Okay, so I think that wraps it up…again…

Leave a Reply

