Woo! Summer 2015!

What new stuff did I watch? Will I keep watching it or did it suck? Let’s see!

GATE: I didn’t even know this show existed, no hype, knew nothing about it. But I wanted to watch Summer Season shows and this was one of the new ones on crunchyroll so I thought I’d try it. Originally I actually just planned to have it on in the background while I did some other stuff but then this happened in the first two seconds: “Is that…is that a normal-sounding, non-playboy-type Junichi Suwabe?!” Turns out, even his normal, non-sexified voice makes me drool! But I do want to say that while his voice was the hook for me to actually pay attention, I think the show has merit. The general concept reminds me of Outbreak Company, which I initially really enjoyed. So I’m excited to listen to see the next episode.

Aoharu x Machinegun: This was actually way more satisfying than I expected. I enjoy shows with survival game themes (maybe from my years paintballing?) and I love girls dressed as guys and I love hosts. So what was not to love about this? The show is nice to look at (both the boys and the art in general) and had a few laugh-out-loud moments. I’m actually kind of excited about this one.

Durarara!! x2 is BACK! Did I get goosebumps during the opening theme? Of course I did! No lag, no boring, just jumped right into Durarara goodness. Typical of my previous experiences with this show, I sat the whole time thinking, “Man, I fucking love this show.” SO HAPPY!

Rokka-Braves of the Six Flowers- I loved the look of this and the costumes and locations really drew me in. However, the prison scene was…way too talky and boring. I understand we need some context, some backstory, and this sort of characters verbally rehashing old lore thing is pretty typical for a fantasy/quest setting like this one. I do think that as we get more of the crew rounded up and meet more characters it’ll regain the initial oomph from the beginning. I hope.

Ushio and Tora this show has a very “shonen” feel from the very beginning and I mean that in the best of ways. Very upfront, relatively simple, and enjoyable.

SHIMONETA: A Boring World Where the Concept of Dirty Jokes Doesn’t Exist is pretty much exactly like it sounds and is totally hilarious. This is a show I was really excited about going into the summer season and the first episode does not disappoint.

GANGSTA my most-anticipated show of the season and OMG I LOVED IT! IT WAS PERFECT! The voices and the art and the voices and the music and the voices…totally wonderful and amazing and I can’t wait for more. I love the manga and it makes me so happy to see it get an anime.

  • Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

