What I Watched Today 1-11-14

Naruto Shippuden Episode 344: I love the opening theme…but even more I love how it seems oddly upbeat and thus doesn’t match what’s currently going on in the series AT ALL. Also, while I really enjoy Naruto Shippuden, I can’t help but think that half the series is actually just flashbacks.

Strange + Episode 1: Didn’t know anything about this series when I added it to my queue; I just liked the way it looked. Only about 3 minutes long but a very hyperactive, full three minutes.

Samurai Flamenco Episode 12: I love this series more every time I watch it; it gets better with every episode. Judging from twitter, a lot of people were really WTF?! with the direction of the plot but I thought it was genius. I guess if a viewer didn’t grow up watching any sort of color-scheme-rangers it might not be as endearing, but I’m delighted with how well the stereotype has been nailed/parodied.

Log Horizon Episode 15: Seemed pretty sleepy at first, though with the words “doki doki” said several times (who doesn’t love hearing “doki doki”?) and then of course things getting intense at the end just in time for an episode cliffhanger. Maybe it’s a side effect from reading so much shojo manga, but I’m always intrigued by the hints of relationships forming between the characters. Perhaps the best part of this episode, though, is simply Rudy being compared to a golden retriever.

Nagi no Asukara Episode 14: I picked up this series because I really liked the way it looked and the underwater scenes in the first episode drew me in. I mean, who wouldn’t want to walk around underwater? I kept watching it because I was mildly curious to see who Manaka ended up choosing. The turn into a weird ocean-themed soap opera kind of wore me down but now everything is crazy and I have to see it through. Episode 14 gives us that time skip we’d been waiting for…

Yowamushi Pedal Episode 13: New opening theme! I really liked the old one…but I’m sure this one will grow on me. I’m sure I’ll say this with every episode of sports anime I watch but: I LOVE SPORTS ANIME! It makes me really sad that it seems to be one of the least-popular genres in the US. Though I love sports anime and was optimistic about Yowapeda, I never expected to enjoy it this much. In this episode we get a better look at a couple of the opposing teams…and now I’m more excited than ever.

Silver Spoon Season 2, Episode 1: Wooooo! Silver Spoon is back! Maybe because I’m from the country and grew up around a ranching/farming environment but I thought this anime was great from the beginning. It’s like everything is extra-funny to me because I’ve seen it in real life. Nothing too monumental happened in episode one, but I’m really glad it’s back.

Nisekoi Episode 1: Since I started reading the manga in the English version of Shonen JUMP, I thought I might as well watch the anime. The animation was a lot more sparkly and erratic than I expected…

Kuroko’s Basketball Episode 39: There are no words for how much I love Kuroko’s Basketball. And for this episode: HOLY SHIT THIS SHOW IS SO GOOD! From the very beginning of the series I didn’t *want* to like Aomine, but I can’t help it–he’s one of my favorite characters and this episode is full of Aomine glory. I love love love this show and I reallllly wish they’d run the manga in the English Shonen JUMP. 😦

  • Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

