Gratitude

Rather than thinking of this as a belated copy of what everyone else did for Thanksgiving, I prefer to think I deliberately waited until after Thanksgiving to post because we should celebrate gratitude and be thankful more than once a year. So…there.

Now, people I’m thankful for even though I bitch a lot:

My Family My family drives me nuts sometimes, yes. If they aren’t driving you crazy, they aren’t doing their jobs. I know a lot of people who hate their families and that makes me sad because mine is pretty great. Okay, my dad is kind of an a-hole sometimes. But his high expectations have made me a better person, given me a better work ethic, pushed me to fulfill my potential. My mom is kind of crazy but she knows I’m crazy and encourages me to be myself anyway. Usually. My brother drives me absolutely insane sometimes but he probably understands me better than anyone else in the world. He laughs wholeheartedly and it’s impossible not to laugh with him.

My Fuzzy Lumpkins Not to be overly dramatic but it’s been a year of near-breakdowns for me. Okay, so maybe some of those near-breakdowns have been because of my blind dog, but more often than not my blind dog’s unconditional affection is what gets me through or snaps me out of it. Whether it’s purring, face licks, funny smiling expressions, or just rubbing my face on a fuzzy belly, without my fuzzy lumpkins crew I would have lost it a long time ago.

My Clients I won’t lie, there needs to be more of them. But the ones I do have are great. It’s inspiring and validating to have people believe in what I do and what I’m trying to accomplish. It’s humbling to have people really care about the future and success of my business.

The Others You people. You guys reading this right now, leaving comments (or not, as the case may be). The tweeters, the emailers, the sharers-of-inside-jokes. The jerky-eaters and brownie-tasters. The RTers and blog pimpers. You who went from just little avatar picture on a screen to being real person somehow.

One thought on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

