Booty and the Beast

I don’t even want to be writing this post but whatever. I’m shallow. Yes, I spend my days in yoga pants and hoodies and I eat like a pig, but I still like to hear I’m attractive. It took me a long time to accept compliments because for a long stretch of time, I wasn’t cute at all and that was pretty obvious.

But now I’m kind of revisiting that. Not out of fishing for compliments or some insecurity relapse, but out of healthy skepticism. When someone you know tells someone they are cute when they definitely are not and that someone turns around and pays you a compliment, how can you believe it?

I pretty much live on the internet. Some people reading this have seen pictures of me, but most haven’t. To most people I’m just my avatar, which is the way I like it. But I’m always amazed when I see someone on Twitter with a homely av and the compliments flood in. Are people being nice? Rewarding the honesty of revealing oneself even if it means shattering that illusion of hotness? Are they hoping to score points somehow-any flirting is better than no flirting? Now, I’m not saying people should tweet, “OMG what were you thinking? I liked you better before I knew you were hideous.” But why say anything at all? Affirmative action compliments?

Just so you know, this has been on my mind for some time. I don’t want any of you reading into it, so vain you think this post is about you. 😉 It’s more just an accumulation of thoughts. Every now and then I think about doing away with my little Sunako avatar and coming out as myself. But I couldn’t stand the compliments, speculating which are real, if any.

  • Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “Booty and the Beast

  1. Well *I* think you’re awesome and agree we should “Jeep it up and eat venison with the little (blind) dogs” because we’re cool like that! Plus the title of this entry made me laugh so even more awesome points.

  2. I just saw this, your blog must’ve been caught up with the feeds I’m terrible about just marking all as read and didn’t realize you were updating.

    That said, I’ve always told you that you’re certainly worth putting out there more. I think the positives would be more than the negatives, because while I know girls get compliments more than guys, most people just opt to say nothing rather than say something nice.

    It’d go fine, I think. So indulge those thoughts a bit more. You’re a real person, might as well let the world know it.

  3. I have often thought about this myself. If i pay a compliment would it come across as a lie or not? So, I don’t tell people how pretty they look unless they have dress nice for a night out or something. I my self don’t take compliments very well. Some people tell me they like my drawings and that I’m good, and so on, I don’t believe it.
    I think it has a lot to do with your self-esteem. My self-esteem is not that high when it comes to my abilities.
    I wouldn’t give an advise as you have asked for none, and I’m not the best judge. But sometimes is good to take a risk.

Leave a Reply

