Detour: You Are What You Watch

I have a confession to make:

“The Last Unicorn” is one of my favorite movies ever.

I know the entire movie by heart. I thought perhaps my memory might have faded after not watching it for a couple years, but for some reason I watched it today and nope, it’s all still in my brain. As I was watching it, I thought of how I used to watch this movie over and over when I was little. For a moment I jokingly thought to myself that perhaps it’s the root cause of why I’m addicted to Red Bull Energy Drink. But then I started thinking about how that movie ends (spoiler alert!)…she doesn’t stay with the prince and live happily ever after-she turns back into a unicorn, which to my 5-year-old self, sounded way more happily ever after at the time.

The more I thought about it, I realized that while other girls were watching Disney movies and their princesses were being rescued by princes, I was watching unicorns save the prince, and princesses save themselves. I loved She-Ra so much that as an adult I requested the entire series on dvd for Christmas a couple years ago.  Other girls want to be princess-woken-with-a-kiss, I wanted to be Princess of Power, saving everyone with my awesome sword and big hips.

I guess I should have known my brain worked differently when my elementary school friends and I played Barbies; their barbies had babies with plastic-haired Ken while mine dated a G.I. Joe because of his hot scars and realistic miniaturized weaponry.

What am I getting at with all this? Am I trying to argue that Disney is evil and that my friend who had a husband and a boyfriend and had never been on her own ever in her life made absolute sense to me once I found out she was obsessed with Disney and always talked about being “treated like a princess”? Am I trying to justify that I’m single and will be forever because I don’t need a man to justify my existence? Am I trying to convince you that I’m in fact not a lesbian, not that there’s anything wrong with that?

No, I’m not saying any of that. I’m just saying that I watched awesome cartoons when I was little and as a result, I think I’m a more awesome person for it. 😛

9 thoughts on “Detour: You Are What You Watch

  1. My wife claims foul and said it was a terrible cartoon despite the non-Disney ending. That said, we’re both looking forward to more info about your hips! 😉

  2. How can you force someone to comment on a blog post in which they have nothing to relate to just because they are tempted of the idea of bath photos? That’s just mean. The Last Unicorn? Never seen it, although it sounds like something Greg Gutfeld would love. 😉

    1. Actually, I almost made that comment today while watching it…something like, “Dirty Little Secret: Greg Gutfeld and I have the same favorite movie!”

  3. So that trashy hooker Barbie got back together with Ken…again. I swear, I think the silicon has soaked into her brain. Whatever, so what are you doing Saturday?

  4. I remember liking the red bull more than the actual unicorn. Hahahaha. I think we i can link my love for drawing and painting to the fact that I liked red bull more, because of the colors and the flames and how it looked.
    Anyway… I love your blog. You are awesome… those that make me awesome too?
    Wait, wait… my favorite animated movie is “Whispers of the Heart” I guess I’m not as awesome as I thought. lmao 🙂

Leave a Reply

