Question: What Would You Do For Revenge?

As you may have guessed by my previous post, I’ve been watching “Hell Girl” lately. It’s such a creepy anime but I have to admit I’m completely fascinated.

What intrigues me most is the bargain. If I had to go to hell as payment for sending someone else to hell, I wouldn’t do it. Call me judgmental but I assume the people I think should go to hell will end up there eventually with no interference on my part. And I think most of my peers feel the same way: it wouldn’t be worth giving up the joys of heaven just to send someone to hell now.  I’ll suffer through putting up with them during this lifetime, as painful as it may be, rather than putting up with hell forever.

So are we half-assed in our revenge? Are we selfish? Is it a cultural thing? Are the Japanese just more thorough in their revenge and willing to do whatever it takes to make sure it’s done properly? What would someone have to do to make me gladly spend eternity in hell to get back at them? Am I presumptuous to think I would get into heaven so I really have nothing to lose by trading my soul for vengeance?

I really want to hear your thoughts on this…

4 thoughts on “Question: What Would You Do For Revenge?

  1. First of all you have to ask how many people actually believe in hell. I don’t believe hell is some place bad people go when they die, ’cause we’re all bad in one way in another. people who do bad things are misguided and confused, and we’ve all been there at one point in our lives. Should someone go to hell if they kill someone? Now that’s a long story…….

    1. That’s a whole other twist! I tend to agree with you on Hell, though I was operating on the story’s view of Hell for this post. But thank you for the comment! Thinking all this to myself has been driving me crazy!

  2. It depends on what version of hell they’re thinking of in the anime too, since faiths like Buddhism can have a version of hell that you can work your way out of through trials. If Christian hell was a temporary punishment, I think most might give it some serious thought.

Leave a Reply

