AniWednesday 6/24: Double Feature!

I’ll try to cut to the chase.  I have a friend who reads my blog to be nice and he keeps asking when I’m going to blog about him.  I told him I try to avoid blogging about people and it’s supposed to be about anime stuff.  I said, “Besides, what exactly do you want me to say?” He said, “Talk about how smart and handsome I am” or something like that and then I realized I had an actual blog post on my hands.

One of my AniWednesday recommendations today is “Pumpkin Scissors.”  Not only is it a great anime, but my aforementioned friend reminds me of Warrant Officer Oreldo.  Oreldo isn’t the main character, but he is an important one.  He’s the narcissistic one who is always flirting with the female officers (well, females in general) and using them to get laid and obtain otherwise unobtainable information.  He’s the one who thinks the best way to get Corporal Oland (our actual protagonist) out of his funk is to take him to a whorehouse (don’t worry; to my knowledge, this doesn’t actually happen).

Joking aside, “Pumpkin Scissors” is a great combination of action, comedy, and guns.  Besides, you can’t beat an anime with a massive killing machine protagonist! (…that I want to hug.)

Part 2 of my recommendation…”Kenichi: The Mightiest Disciple.”

This was my original recommendation for this week.  I recently got Part 2 of Season 1 and this anime continues to impress me.  It moves along nicely and is very funny.  Kenichi wants to get stronger and ends up training at the dojo from hell with crazy masters of various martial arts.  If that’s not a recipe for anime hilarity, I don’t know what is.

On a personal note, I’ve been struggling with my career lately and am close to being forced to admit defeat and give up my dream.  The day I really realized this was not-so-coincidentally the day I watched the token hot springs episode of “Kenichi.”  At the end, Hayato (who I personally refer to as Kogan because he reminds me of the insane master from “Shigurui”) tells Kenichi something like you can’t just give up after failing a couple times, even if it’s just peeking at a hot spring.  Sitting there, it seemed silly to me that I would give up so easily on something much bigger.

But enough seriousness.  “Kenichi: The Mightiest Disciple” is all about (well, mostly about) the humor.  If nothing else, the friend I mentioned at the beginning of this post reminds me of a character in this anime too…Kensei Ma, the dirty old man who loves nothing more than taking pictures of bouncy boobs and pantyshots.

2 thoughts on “AniWednesday 6/24: Double Feature!

Leave a Reply

