Lesson Eight: “Love” is Hard-Even for Pretty People

A few nights ago I was watching the last disc of “The Story of Saiunkoku” (season one, of course.  Will I ever see season two?  Who knows).  Anyway, I made a comment to a friend of mine that it just wasn’t fair that Shurei was surrounded by all those beautiful boys and here I am surrounded by…well, piles of manga and anime and little else.  Friend reminded me that Shurei is not real, which didn’t really alter my sense of injustice at all.  Because I think we do run into Shureis at different times in our lives…that popular person that seems to have all the hottest people clamoring for his/her attention.

For funsies I thought, “If I were Shurei, who would I choose?  Seiran, who is so gorgeous and loyal and an ass-kicker?  The energetic, rugged-yet-insightful Ensei?  Eccentric-but-entertaining Ryuren Ran?  Creepy-but-driven Sakujun Sa?  Or rich, loves-you-more-than-anything Ryuki Shi?”  I immediately narrowed it down to two but then I had a serious conundrum and was soon relieved that it wasn’t my decision to make.

However, this little imagination exercise reminded me of not so long ago when gasp! I did have my fifteen minutes of popularity.  I remembered how my friends laughed at my problem: “I’ve never had people like me before-what do I do?  I don’t know who to choose!”  In the end, it was easier for me to get rid of all of them than have to choose one among them.  (I should probably add a disclaimer here that none of them were gorgeous loyal asskickers, rugged-yet-insighftul, so on and so forth.)

Don’t get me wrong-I’m not saying we should just be passive and take what seems to be the only person in the world who is interested.  I’m all about being selective and not settling for anything less than what you deserve.

But sometimes it may feel like if only we were more popular and had more people to choose from, things would be so much better.  So much easier.  But if we were surrounded by dozens of equally-beautiful people who were all totally crazy about us…how could you choose?   Or does the fact that you’re pursued by suitors who are all more or less the same become so boring that you’d rather not have any of them at all?

Leave a Reply

