Lesson Two: Let him go-if ever he figures it out, it’ll be too late anyway

It’s February and that means Valentine’s Day! So here is my special Valentine’s Day post.

This is one I’ve struggled with, though I hate to admit it. However, thanks to anime I’ve had this lesson smacked upside my head repeatedly and always (oddly enough) around the time I needed it. I was in the middle of pondering whether or not What’s-his-face was ever going to apologize for being a big fat jerk when I watched the last disc of “Welcome to the NHK.” Wayyyy too close to home. Misaki was there telling Sato how much time and energy she’d spent on him and how he needs her and so on and so forth and after she runs off in tears, Sato just says something like, “What’s her problem?” I thought I was just going to vomit right there. For those of you who have seen the show, you might argue that she and Sato end up reconciling in the end. I have to then point out that it took her trying to commit suicide to get him to pay attention (and I do not recommend that course of action to anyone) and after it was all said and done, I got the feeling they hooked up out of shared misery and mutual desperation. Of course, that might be my opinion.

We have the second example of “Jyu-Oh-Sei.” Tizz looks after Thor for years, keeping him safe in this weird jungle world and telling him all the while how she wants him to be her husband. Then in one day he falls in love with some woman he’s never met before and Tizz is justifiably devastated. However, as things turn out, the tramp dies and after much controversy, Thor decides he could love Tizz after all. Will Tizz finally get her happily-ever-after? Nope. She dies too. So by the time she got what she wanted, it was too late anyway.

I could go on and on with this, but I’ll quit after this next example-my favorite anime of all time, “Cowboy Bebop.” Spike waits for Julia forever. When Julia finally shows up and we dare hope for two seconds these two can be happy together, she dies. I liked this example because I didn’t want to be sexist and I want the guys out there to know that the lesson applies if they are the ones who happen to be waiting futilely. Also, in “Cowboy Bebop” we have the interesting subplot of Faye getting all worked up about Spike leaving…and he, as we know, never figures out that Faye kind of has a thing for him and he goes off to die. (I have to add here that it’s the most beautiful death I’ve ever seen animated, though that’s irrelevant to this particular post.)

There you go. Can’t get through to that blockhead that you’re the person he should be with? Tired of waiting for that girl to make up her mind? The object of your affection totally ignorant to the fact you even exist? Let him go-if he ever figures it out, it’ll be too late anyway.

Leave a Reply

